Why you should be interested

You might be thinking, why should I care how Courtenay and Comox collects, treats and disposes of its sewage? Most people never think about this topic. But this isn’t just about poop. It’s about decisions that affect our social and environmental values. It’s about fiscal responsibility. It’s about protecting the K’omoks estuary. It’s about recognizing how sea level rise and the increasing frequency and severity of winter storms will impact our shorelines, where sewer pipes are now located. CVRD engineers for the Courtenay-Comox Sewer Commission have engaged public stakeholders to set new goals and objectives that will guide a planning process for a long term solution.

Public panel will help guide new sewerage plan

Public panel will help guide new sewerage plan

The new Comox Valley Sewer Conveyance Planning Process that will recommend rerouting the pipe carrying Courtenay and Comox sewage to the treatment plant will include public and technical panels, which will be formed this summer; plus, the treatment plant gets an upgrade to eliminate over-capacity at peak periods

read more
Will common sense prevail in the Comox Valley?

Will common sense prevail in the Comox Valley?

That the Courtenay-Comox Sewage Commission shelved its multi-million dollar sewerage project this summer comes as no surprise. For nearly two years, Comox Valley citizens have implored the commission and regional district engineers to consider less expensive and more...

read more

Let our elected officials know how you feel:

Town of Comox:

Russ Arnott, Mayor: rarnott@comox.ca

Alex Bissinger: abissinger@comox.ca

Nicole Minions: nminions@comox.ca

Patrick McKenna:  pmckenna@comox.ca

Ken Grant: kgrant@comox.ca

Maureen Swift: mswift@comox.ca

Stephanie McGowan: smcgowan@comox.ca

City of Courtenay:

Bob Wells, Mayor: bwells@courtenay.ca

David Frisch: dfrisch@courtenay.ca

Doug Hillian: dhillian@courtenay.ca

Wendy Morin: wmorin@courtenay.ca

Mano Theos: mtheos@courtenay.ca

Will Cole-Hamilton: wcolehamilton@courtenay.ca

Melanie McCollum: mmccollum@courtenay.ca

CVRD

Marc Rutten:  mrutten@comoxvalleyrd.ca

Kris LaRose: klarose@comoxvalleyrd.ca